Chapter 95 : Secret Smile

“What? Are you curious about how I could love her?”

The story about “Prince Dice liked Hari Ernst” circulated secretly in the social world, but it was all rumors. Because the girl he loved was none other than Rosabella.

“Okay, because you’re my friend, so I’ll tell you especially….Actually, I have a carriage-phobia. It’s a symptom that happened after the hunting ground incident that you know very well. But because of my status as a Prince, I have to get on the carriage, right?”

The first time he noticed it wasn’t long after he entered the Imperial Palace with his friend.

“So that day, I had to smile in front of people and climb onto the carriage.”

In fact, there was no special occasion, and I suddenly realized when I saw Dice stuttering and begging foolishly in front of Rosabella.

“I was sweating and suffocating the whole time I walked, and I felt like I was really dying. But I couldn’t help it, pretending to be okay. I waved to people, finishing my New Year’s greetings, and then I went to a place where no one was there and passed out.” Even now, Dice continued his words with a hazy look, as if he recalled the day. His eyes staring into the air were also faint.

“But then Miss Velontia came to me and gently gave me a handkerchief.”

I listened quietly to him in a desirable listener attitude, but in fact, it was a bit embarrassing.

“She even patted my back where I’m nauseous. Only Miss Velontia who noticed that I was in bad condition. Isn’t she really kind and sweet?”

Oh, yes… She was very kind and sweet. I understood why you fell for Miss Velontia. But I wished he didn’t forget that she was my brother’s fiancee. It was unfair for me to ask him why he was embarrassed after asking that question.

A while ago, Dice kept staring at me and forced me to do something! He seemed like he wanted to hold onto me and share his feelings because there was no one around he could talk to.

“When did it happen?”

“Three years ago on New Year’s Day.”

Dice answered me back right away as if it wasn’t a reminder of what was happening for a day or two. Oh wait, so he liked Rosabella even before she got engaged to Eugene?

I glanced at Dice, feeling a little more ambiguous than I had before.

“Don’t worry, I know she’s Duke Ernst’s fiancee. Besides, I think of him as my real brother.” Dice said, lifting the teacup on the table as if he had noticed the meaning of my gaze. But there was a bitterness in his face.

“Today, I just met Miss Velontia from the Imperial Palace Library and talked for a while …”

“But you tried to confess.”

“That’s unknowingly…..”

When I pointed it out, I felt a sense of dismay in Dice’s face. As if he had done something wrong, like a master wanting his servant’s lover. That’s why he looked so clumsy and ashamed when he saw himself a while ago.

I was sighing as I watched him like that.

“I didn’t mean to blame your Majesty. Besides, I don’t deserve to do so in the first place.”

Well, a person’s heart wouldn’t go the way they wanted….I knew it well.

“Why don’t you deserve it? You’re Eugene’s sister and also my friend. I think the qualifications are enough for you to blame me.”

I laughed at him when Dice, without hesitation, called me as his friend. “That’s very kind of you.”

But did Rosabella not know Dice’s feelings?

I figured it was more difficult for her to say she was naive when she saw his outspoken reaction. If Dice didn’t show his mind explicitly, it’s right for her to claim that she didn’t know.

….But if he did, from then on, it would be a tough situation that couldn’t even be compared to before. So I guessed that Dice would never really confess her love to Rosabella.

Of course, there were times when he did something dangerous like today, but somehow he added dumb words and managed to change the topic.

“Cheer up, Your Majesty.” Again, I encouraged the sullen, Dice. But I, only Dice’s listener, so I couldn’t support him in the end.

Because I had no choice but to be on Eugene’s side.


In the evening, I left Dice’s Palace with a bitter heart. It was uncomfortable to meet Dice after knowing his sincerity toward Rosabella. Honestly, it wasn’t that I could do anything in this love triangle.

Rosabella was Eugene’s fiancée, so I wasn’t in a position to encourage Dice to clear up his mind. And, I never thought of Dice myself in the first place. If I had to go away like that, I would have cut him off sooner.

Did he ever like Rosabella in the past? I was referring to the world where I was 27. There was no way to find out now, of course.

“Miss.”

Then Ethan, who followed me quietly, opened his mouth. I lifted my head in wonder. And soon I found someone on the other side.

Oh, it’s Eugene.

“Brother!”

I approached Eugene, who was standing next to the carriage I had been on, almost as fast as I was running. After he heard my call, he looked at me. Shortly after that, Eugene narrowed his eyebrows and opened his mouth.

“Don’t run like that·····,” he said.

And, as soon as he spoke, I sprained my ankle. Now that I was old, I used to wear high heels whenever I went out, but the problem was that I forgot about that when I ran.

Oh, now way. Would I fall here right now? In front of people like this?

“Ahhhh!”

In the meantime, my body was leaning forward. But, thankfully, Eugene was able to catch me, so I didn’t fall to the ground. I was really shocked, so I grabbed Eugene’s arm around me and clung to him.

It almost became an embarrassing moment at the Imperial Palace’s roadside. If I did, I didn’t have a face anymore to step into the Palace for a while.

I felt my bangs shaking a little because of someone’s breath above me. And it turned out that Eugene was still hugging me. But…. he was too close. I thought I should get up quickly and thanked him right now.

“Thanks for holding me. I almost fell…..”

But at that moment, Eugene’s hand, which held my arm gently, was strained. Immediately after that, Eugene pulled me off as if to release me.

“Miss, are you all right?”

“Oh, it’s okay,” I answered Ethan’s question and looked at his face.

“You should be careful. You almost got hurt.” However, no one next to him felt strange as Eugene’s actions and words were so natural. His face staring at me was as calm as usual. So I asked myself, ‘Did I sense an illusion a little while ago?’

“Miss Hari, I’m here as well.” Rowengreen, whom I hadn’t seen in a while, quietly greeted me from behind Eugene.

“Oh, hello, Mr. Rowengreen.”

“I heard you came to the palace today, but I was sorry I couldn’t see you.”

“Oh, I didn’t have time to spare today, so I went right away to meet His Majesty.”

“That’s right. But now the time is just right, so we can go home together.”

I went home early today and greeted Rowangreen for a while, who seemed to be in a good mood. More first, I turned away when I saw Eugene talking to officials, but I thought, if I said so, he might care about it. So, I just told him that I was heading straight to Dice’s Palace.

“Then, let’s go back.”

Soon I grabbed Eugene’s hand and climbed into the carriage. I stole a glance at his face, but I could no longer feel the strange feeling like a little while ago.

“I think your work ended early today. It’s an hour earlier than usual, and I can see you coming home from work like this”

“There were some guests on the way, and there wasn’t much urgent work, so I finished my work early.”

The guest was probably Rosabella. In the conversation she had with Dice earlier, she said she would go see her fiancee.

“Yes.” I tried to refrain from asking any further questions about her, so I replied vaguely and turned my eyes out of the window. But when Eugene looked closely at my face and asked, I was stunned.

“Is everything all right?”

Ugh, what did he mean all of a sudden?

“What’s wrong?” Eugene’s eyes glanced at mine.

I tried to answer back calmly. As if I had never seen Rosabella today, also trying not to remember Dice’s, unrequited love.

“I think the story was longer today.” Eugene seemed suspicious that I left Dice’s Palace later than usual.

“Oh, we didn’t talk about anything special, but time has passed quickly today.”

“Really?”

“Yes.”

Fortunately, Eugene didn’t say anything else. He didn’t seem to doubt me, so I smiled at him in secret.


Leave a comment